Agricultural insurance to insure 14 types of plants


August 12, Fineko/abc.az. At the initial stage the agricultural insurance mechanism to be introduced in Azerbaijan this year will insure 14 types of crop production, ABC was informed at the Agricultural Insurance Fund.

According to Cabinet Ministers’ decision the list of those plants includes: wheat, barley, corn, potatoes, sugar beets, oranges, lemons, tangerines, tea, rice, tobacco, grapes, nuts, and cotton.

In the following periods it is planned to further increase the list of plants covered by agricultural insurance.

Entrepreneurs will be able to insure against a number of other risks by paying an additional insurance fee.

To use agricultural insurance, a farmer must register with the electronic agriculture information system (EKTIS). After registering with EKTIS, the farmer can contact the relevant insurance company in connection with the insurance.