Countries of world stop communication with Great Britain


December 21, Fineko/abc.az. Almost two dozen countries around the world, including at least 14 EU member states, have decided to stop or restrict transport links with the UK after a new, more contagious strain of coronavirus was detected there.

ABC.AZ reports that Netehrelands has become the first country that announced on Saturday the stoppage of flights to the UK until 1 January.

After that, Belgium closed the border with the UK for at least 24 hours. In this regard, the railway service was suspended between London and Brussels, and London and Amsterdam.

Finland suspended the air traffic with Britain for two weeks. Although, Spain has not yet stopped passenger traffic with the UK, it has tightened controls on passengers arriving from that country. But Switzerland took a different position from Spain, interrupting air traffic with Britain. Among the countries that have stopped air service to the UK is Croatia. The Canadian authorities announced the termination of air traffic with the UK from 21 December. However, TV channel SBS reports that this suspension is temporary.