Voting in presidential election of Azerbaijan ended


April 11, Fineko/ Voting in the presidential election in Azerbaijan today began at 8:00 and ended at 19:00.

Calculation of the ballots was carried out with the participation of international and local observers.

The Central Election Committee reports that more than 4 million out of 5 314 365 voters in 125 organized election districts took part in the voting. 58 894 175 local and international observers observed the election. Also, during the day the voting process d could be seen through the web cameras installed in 1000 polling stations in 119 election districts.

The CEC registered eight presidential candidates among whom were  lham Aliyev, who represented ruling party Yeni Azerbaijan; Gudret Hasanguliyev, candidate from United Popular Front Party of Azerbaijan; Araz Alizade, candidate from the Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan;  Faraj Guliyev, candidate of National Revival Movement Party; Razi Nurullayev, candidate of the Initiative Group of Veterans;  Hafiz Hajiyev, candidate of party Modern Musavat; self-promoted Zahid Oruj; Sardar Mammadov (Jalaloglu), candidate from Democratic Party of Azerbaijan.

The term of office of the elected President is 7 years.


Keywords: election