Ruling party: Azerbaijani people has chosen Ilham Aliyev


April 11, Fineko/ Vice Premier and Executive Secretary of ruling party Yeni Azerbaijan (New Azerbaijan) Ali Ahmadov held a press-conference dedicated to the presidential election.

Ahmadov stated that according to the exit-poll, Ilham Aliyev gathered more than 80% of votes in the election.

"That means that the people of Azerbaijan has chosen Ilham Aliyev and he won the presidential election," Ahmadov underlined.

Voting in the presidential election in Azerbaijan today began at 8:00 and ended at 19:00.

The Central Election Committee The CEC registered eight presidential candidates among whom were lham Aliyev, who represented ruling party Yeni Azerbaijan; Gudret Hasanguliyev, candidate from United Popular Front Party of Azerbaijan; Araz Alizade, candidate from the Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan; Faraj Guliyev, candidate of National Revival Movement Party; Razi Nurullayev, candidate of the Initiative Group of Veterans; Hafiz Hajiyev, candidate of party Modern Musavat; self-promoted Zahid Oruj; Sardar Mammadov (Jalaloglu), candidate from Democratic Party of Azerbaijan.

The term of office of the elected President is 7 years.