EU ambassadors agree on 14th package of sanctions against Russia

17:12 - 20.06.2024

June 20, Fineko/ The EU ambassadors have agreed on the 14th package of sanctions against Russia, the Belgian presidency of the EU Council has announced.

"The EU ambassadors have agreed on a powerful and significant 14th package of sanctions," the presidency said in a statement.

It has not yet revealed the essence of the new measures, only notes that they include "both targeted restrictions" and measures to "close holes" in previous sanctions packages to increase their effectiveness.

Now this sanctions package must be approved by the ministers of all EU states, after which it will be published and will enter into force. The European Commission seeks to put it into effect before the start of negotiations on the admission of Ukraine and Moldova to the EU scheduled for June 25.

Earlier, the Brussels portal EUobserver published the main provisions of this package with reference to the draft document. The EU, in particular, intends to impose restrictions on the supply of liquefied natural gas and the import of helium from the Russian Federation. According to the draft, the package includes sanctions against the oil tanker fleet and restrictions on access to "dual-use technologies".

The EU also intends to blacklist more than 20 individuals, including singer Polina Gagarina, and 22 legal entities. The restrictions will also be imposed on the founder of the Russian Copper Company Igor Altushkin, president of Baltika brewing company, to which the Russian assets of the Carlsberg Group were transferred, Taimuraz Bolloev, founder of the AEON Corporation Roman Trotsenko and CEO of the Institute for Internet Development (ANO IRI) Alexey Goreslavsky. In addition, the list will include "heads of defense enterprises, officials and energy companies". Restrictions on individuals will include a ban on entry into the EU, as well as the freezing of their assets in the jurisdiction of the community.